Richard McGrew's Black and White Photography

Old Louisville #23

Posted in Photography by richardmcgrew on January 29, 2013

Old Louisville #23

This is a photograph from the test roll I ran through my recently acquired Hasselblad 500C/M this weekend. It shows a stylistically pure example of the Arts and Crafts Architecture movement that was a reaction during the early years of the 20th century against the much more prevalent Victorian Architecture in Old Louisville. The 500C/M has no internal meter, so I’m experimenting with Sunny 16 to determine exposure.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Derek said, on January 29, 2013 at 2:44 am

    Sunny 16 works great.

    • richardmcgrew said, on January 29, 2013 at 3:10 am

      I’ve only shot one roll of film using Sunny 16, but so far I agree! I’m really looking forward to further experimentation.

  2. Janet Duperré said, on January 29, 2013 at 8:09 pm

    I has a Hasselblad 500CM which was considerably older than I was, and probably better worn. It produced the most marvellous results and I would love to have a digital Hasselblad if I ever win the Lotto! I love waist level finders as they cause you to stop and look again, plus knowing that you only have either 12 6×6 or 16 6×4 on a roll make you take care in what you actually commit to film. I love looking at your pics as I have always wanted to visit Old Orleans and areas of the south of the US which such a cultural history.

    • richardmcgrew said, on January 29, 2013 at 11:29 pm

      Thanks, Janet, for your kinds words. I enjoyed hearing about your experiences with your Hasselblad. I have only had mine a short time, but I’m already in love with it. The waist-level finder is so different from anything I have used before. It is just amazing.


Leave a Reply

